Varsity Teams

Windsurfing Varsity Introduction

This page records the list of Cambridge windsurfing varsity teams from the inception of the Oxford-Cambridge match in 1982 until the current day. After the first three matches in 1982-84, the fixture did not become regular until 1990. Names of team members and college affiliations, plus the format of the match, are often missing in earlier years, but are recorded consistently from 2012. The Club has made an annual deposit of teams and season’s results (the Commodore’s Report) in the University archives since that year.

In 2016 a Second Team (non-Blues) match was initiated, first won by Cambridge. The First (Blues) Team is listed first in each year below. We plan to fill in gaps using Blues Committee records when these become available.

Data Details

The bare outcome of the match is recorded here for convenience; the location of, and score for, each match is recorded on the O&CSS website. That makes this detailed information available to both Universities.

Who Gets a Blue

Cambridge Half Blue status was awarded in 1997. Currently Half Blues can be awarded to not more than 2 men who have sailed in the Windsurfing Varsity Match, at the Captain’s discretion. Half Blues can be awarded to not more than 2 women if they finish in the top two Cambridge positions in a Varsity Match race, participate in BUCS/SWA and two other SWA events, and can execute a carve gybe. Oxford windsurfers currently do not get Half Blues.


Use the ‘Leave a Reply’ function at the bottom of the page to submit any comments you wish to make – or supply corrections and missing information.

Windsurfing 1st and 2nd Teams from 2016 to date. Captain first, other names alphabetic. The outcome is shown as W/L, etc. beneath the year – the first letter being the Blues match outcome and the 2nd letter the 2nds match outcome – if sailed.

Year Name and College (Capt) Name and College Name and College
2023   W Johan Kidger (Caius-Capt) Harriet Palmer (Selwyn) Jenny Jiang (Murray Edwards)


No match (No interest)
2020-21 No match (No Cambridge captain)
2019 No match (No Oxford team)
2018 David Fischer (Girton-Capt) Helen White (Emmanuel)
L/L Maddy Green (Murray Ed-Capt) Sipke Shaughnessy (St Johns)
2017 Helen White (Emmanuel-Capt) Chris Watts (St Catharines) Horatio Cox (Sidney Sussex)
W/L Maddy Green (Murray Ed-Capt) David Fischer (Girton) Adam Heath (Trinity)
2016 Ben Lawrence (Caius-Capt) Tom Edwards (Jesus) Torben Heinsohn (Caius)
W/W Helen White (Emmanuel-Capt) Thomas Brouwer (Homerton) Millie Mitchell (Clare)

Windsurfing Teams in 2015 and earlier. Format of matches has varied. Captain first, other names alphabetic – except 1982 where lines are 1st and 2nd trios.

Year Name and College Name and College Name and College
2015 Laurel Townsend (Sidney Sx-Capt) George Cooper (Sidney Sussex) Jorn Emborg (Clare)
Tie Ben Lawrence (Caius) Tom Lawson (Sidney Sussex) Hal Miller (Emmanuel)
2014 Jack Tawney (Pembroke-Capt) George Cooper (Sidney Sussex) Tom Edwards (Jesus)
Won Emily Guest (Girton) Hal Miller (Emmanuel) Laurel Townsend (Sidney Sussex)
2013 Jack Tawney (Pembroke-Capt) Philippe Ayache (Sidney Sussex) Pete Bunch (Pembroke)
Lost Tom Edwards (Jesus) Emily Guest (Girton) Zephyr Penoyre (Trinity Hall)
2012 Aidan Hopkins (Emmanuel-Capt) Honor Fell (Newnham) Zephyr Penoyre (Trinity Hall)
Won Sander Probyn (Girton) Jack Tawney (Pembroke) David Williams (Robinson)
1983 No team records until 2012
1982 Dave Bishop (Capt) Pete Sumner Jim Campbell
Tie Graham Topp Chris von Brummen Nick Hurst

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *