Cam Cup Winners

The Cam Cup

Introduction to Cam Cup Team Racing

The Cam Cup (engraved as The Cambridge Cup) is a team racing event held each year during the Lent Term, in late February or early March. Entry is by invitation only – to the best alumni and university teams in the country.

Some History

The event was started in 1999 on the initiative of Jo Sutcliffe (now McEwen, Emmanuel 1996), with a rather fine cup, recently re-discovered, resourced from the Club’s store of redundant trophies. The first event set the style for the current competition, with lots of round-robin races followed by knock-out semi-final and final, although only a single on-the-water umpire was present in 1999!

Data Details

The code ‘RR’ in the ‘Score’ column of the results table below indicates that the winner was decided on the round-robin league results because final knock-out rounds were not held. All the years listed below are calendar years and, conveniently, the last two digits of the year indicate the occurrence of that year’s competition – so 2015 was the 15th Cam Cup.

2018Cancelled due to cold weather
2017Royal Thames Blue2-0
2016West Kirby2-0
2015Oxford BlueRR
2014Itchenor Sonicboom2-1
2013Royal Forth HoosiersRR
2012Wessex ExemptRR
2011Spinnaker AuspiciousRR
2010West Kirby2-0
2009Tabby Cats2-1
2006West Kirby Hawks
2005Cambridge 20002-1
2004Friendly event
2003Cambridge 90’s
2002Not sailed
2001Cambridge 90’s
2000O&CSS (Cam 90’s)