Gosnell Cup Winners

The Gosnell Cup


The table below lists all the winners of the Gosnell Cup since it was first contested in 1940. The Cup has sometimes (incorrectly) been called the Freshers Cup. It is a fine silver rose bowl with a wooden plinth, originally won outright (three consecutive victories) by Ralph Gosnell in his 5 Rater at Tamesis SC in 1902. It was presented in 1939 by Mrs Gosnell in memory of her husband Ralph Gosnell, Vice Commodore 1923-25 and 1936-39, for a new members race.

Some History

The race has usually been sailed in the Easter Term. Where this has varied, the academic year has been used to avoid two different winners appearing in the same year. In 1996 George Nurton and Rob Buthune agreed to share the cup because, on a really windy day, when only George and Rob made the start, George’s mast fell down at the final gybe mark when he was a lap ahead of Rob, who had capsized twice, and a re-sail was not possible. After the (Michaelmas Term) Gosnell Cup race of 2013, the competition was suspended because of the pressures of trials, training, and team racing events on the Club’s sailing program.

2013Esther SidebothamJesus2012Francine CounsellCorpus
2011No race 2010No race
2009William KalderonEmmanuel 2008No race
2007No race 2006No race
2005No race 2004Jonathon PinnerTrinity Hall
2003Wendy CarlinMagdalene 2002Mark MellowsPembroke
2001George HarstonSt Catharines 2000Alistair RoseFitzwilliam
1999Tom HerbertCaius 1998Ari LiddellNew Hall (Murray Edwards)
1997Archie MasseyPembroke 1996George Nurton
Rob Buthune
1995Geoffrey CammClare 1994No race
1993Michael HoggQueens 1992Graham CammMagdalene
1991Nigel MasdingSt Johns 1990Ed CrookFitzwilliam
1989Ian WalkerDowning 1988Gordon MaclayTrinity Hall
1987No race 1986Stephen KeatingSidney Sussex
1985Bruce McLarenCaius 1984Peter KennedyRobinson
1983Barry ParkinDowning 1982Vincent GeakePeterhouse
1981Stacey ClarkDowning 1980Jane SearsGirton
1979Andrew HattersleyEmmanuel 1978Andy BillerChurchill
1977Mark StruckettSelwyn 1976Mary ClarkeNewnham
1975Chris AtkinsPembroke 1974Will HendersonTrinity
1973David WilkinsWolfson 1972John BurkeTrinity Hall
1971Phil CrebbinMagdalene 1970No Race
1969Bob BarkerFitzwilliam 1968Robert BarklieChurchill
1967Andrew BeveridgeTrinity 1966Chris BrownClare
1965Peter DixonCorpus 1964Malcolm AtkinsonJesus
1963Mike HaylesChurchill 1962Roger PalmerJesus
1961Peter WalkerJesus 1960R MillingtonTrinity
1959William KilgourSt Johns 1958Richard HarrisonTrinity Hall
1957John ParkinsonJesus 1956Mike ProsserTrinity
1955David Court-HamptonSelwyn 1954Robert CampbellFitzwilliam
1953Michael MooreKings 1952Brian HeronSt Catharines
1951Ian CoxClare 1950Terence MurphyJesus
1949William WilsonQueens 1948P K WithenshawTrinity
1947J C HolborowCaius 1946John AbbottDowning
1945Henry CatherwoodPembroke 1944M D DuxburyTrinity Hall
1943Oswald TrubshaweClare 1942Robert WrightKings
1941R J WalkerTrinity 1940T R JacksonTrinity