Robinson and Sidney Sussex Take Cuppers – June 2016

In a yet-bigger-than-ever Cuppers held at Grafham on Tuesday 14 June, that some wet weather did nothing to dampen, Robinson won Team Racing Cuppers 2-0 from Magdalene and Sidney Sussex were victorious in Windsurfing Cuppers over Robinson. 17 teams representing 9 colleges participated in the dinghy team racing, and 15 people representing 6 colleges participated in the windsurfing.

The day started slowly (as usual!) after Monday’s May Balls, and the wind was somewhat light for windsurfing, but a full programme was run for it and for the team racing. The BBQ was also voted as up to standard, in spite of the bottom falling out of the main charcoal unit, and Pimms was the order of the day.

Robinson, with a former University Team Captain and the incoming Team Captain helming, were always going to be hard to beat, though Magdalene did take one race off them in the round robin, while Sidney Sussex, fielding late-entry former University Windsurfing Captain Laurel Townsend, clearly had their eye on the silverware. And so it turned out for both colleges in the main competition.

Robinson Team (Yule Oldham Cup winners): James Pinder and Alex Berry, Arthur Henderson and Olivia Collin

Sidney Sussex W/S (Brindley Cup winners): Laurel Townsend

Caius Silver Team (Royal Harwich Tankard winners): Jamie Webb and Henry Mitson, Philip Binns and Matt Coote

Silver W/S (Challenge Tankard trophy): Not awarded

Robinson Bronze Team (No prize): Cliff Cheung and Cameron Holloway, Matt Kite and Mimi Shaul

photo of competitors
Outgoing Commodore and event organiser Bryan Ormond gets the general briefing under way


photo of windsurfers
Windsurfers gather for their briefing


photo of start of first windsurfing semi final
Hal Miller gets off to a somewhat better start than Laurel Townsend in the first windsurfing semi final …


photo of finish of first windsurfing semi final
but it is Laurel Townsend who takes line honours and goes on the win the final.


general photo of dinghy team racing
Team racing gets under way


photo of a dinghy gybing battle on the run leg of the course
Let gybing battle commence …


Photo of victorious Robinson team
Victorious Robinson: Janes Pinder, Olivia Collin Arthur Henderson, Alex Berry

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.